Patrice Rushen - Remind Me - The Classic Elektra Recordings 1976-1984 (VG++ Sleeves)
Play All    
1. A1 - Music Of The Earth
2. A2 - Let’s Sing A Song Of Love
3. A3 - When I Found You
4. B1 - Haven’t You Heard (12” Version)
5. B2 - Givin’ It Up Is Givin’ Up With DJ Rogers
6. C1 - Forget Me Nots (12” Version)
7. C2 - Look Up! (Long Version)
8. C3 - Where There Is Love
9. D1 - Never Gonna Give You Up (Won’t Let You Be) (Long Version)
10. D2 - Number One (12” Version)
11. F1 - Feels So Real (Won’t Let Go) (12” Version)
12. F2 - To Each His Own


Patrice Rushen - Remind Me - The Classic Elektra Recordings 1976-1984 (VG++ Sleeves)


Strut present the first definitive retrospective of an icon of 1970s and ‘80s soul, jazz and disco, Patrice Rushen, covering her peerless 6-year career with Elektra / Asylum from 1978 to 1984. 

Early classics like ‘Music Of The Earth’ and ‘Let’s Sing A Song Of Love’ were among Patrice’s first as a lead vocalist before her ‘Pizzazz’ album landed in 1979, featuring the unique disco of ‘Haven’t You Heard’ and one of her greatest ballads, ‘Settle For My Love’. “Although ballads make you feel more vulnerable as an artist because they are often personal, I think listeners relate to that sincerity,” she reflects. By now, Patrice’s records were supremely arranged and produced as her confidence as an all-round writer, producer, arranger and performer grew.

Slick dancefloor anthem ‘Never Gonna Give You Up’ and the ‘Posh’ album in 1980 led to her landmark album ‘Straight From The Heart’ two years later. Receiving little support from her label, Patrice and her production team personally funded a promo campaign for the first single from it, ‘Forget Me Nots’. It went on to peak at no. 23 on the Billboard Hot 100 and the album was later Grammy-nominated, while the track became a timeless anthem and popular sample, inspiring Will Smith’s theme for the film ‘Men In Black’ and George Michael’s ‘Fastlove’. 

Patrice’s final album for Elektra, ‘Now’ kept the bar high with sparse, synth-led songs including ‘Feel So Real’ and ‘To Each His Own’. It concluded a golden era creatively for Patrice which remains revered by soul and disco aficionados the world over.

‘Remind Me’ features all of Patrice Rushen’s chart singles, 12” versions and popular sample sources on one album for the first time. Formats included a 3LP set and 1CD fully remastered by The Carvery from the original tapes. Both formats include an exclusive new interview with Patrice Rushen and rare photos. 

Vinyl, 3x12", LP, Compilation, Reissue