Soul Supreme - Soul Supreme LP
Play All    
1. A1. Easy Breezy
2. A2. Rich In Soul
3. A3. Snakes
4. A4. Keep Moving
5. A5. Mellow Thompson
6. B1. Huit Octobre 1971
7. B2. Born With A Desire
8. B3. Summertime On Mars
9. B4. Orbit

Soul Supreme Records

Soul Supreme - Soul Supreme LP

"It feels odd to call this self-titled release by Soul Supreme his 'debut album'; the Amsterdam-based keyboardist, DJ & producer has been widely recognized for over six years now. With best known his 45 records reinterpreting music by Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five and Mos Def (sold out within a matter of days), and more recently his ATCQ 45Check The Rhime b/w Lyrics To Go(an instant success with two represses). But here we are, with his rst ofcial album with his own compositions and productions. Chasing more supreme sounds on this self-released LP.

The album nds Soul Supreme in a dizzying array of musical twists and turns. From the infectious house vibe on 'Rich in Soul' to broken beats on 'Keep Moving.' And from putting the soul in a synth on 'Mellow Thompson' as if the keys are singing over hip-hop drums, to the G-funk-in- space album closer 'Orbit.' And in good ol' Soul Supreme fashion, two reinterpretations of tracks he loves: French sample classic 'Huit Octobre 1971'  by Cortex (sampled by MF DOOM, Madlib, Tyler, the Creator), and an ode to the late last year deceased L.A. jazz-fusion multi- instrumentalist Tony Palkovic ('Born With A Desire').

Let's skip the promotional gibberish of 'Sounds Like...' or 'For Those Who Dig...' This is Soul Supreme's ofcial introduction to Soul Supreme. Hope you're pleased to meet him. ״

Vinyl, 12", LP