Tee Mango - 50 Songs - EP#1
Play All    
1. A1. Feels Like Whatever ft Amp Fiddler
2. B1. No More Tears
3. B2. Lay Down (Disco Mix)

Millionhands Black

Tee Mango - 50 Songs - EP#1

Ahead of his second artist album on his own Millionhands label in July, Tee Mango teases with a fantastic first EP taken from it. The album finds the UK artist stretch himself with a dazzling array of soul drenched, fully fledged songs featuring his own singing and that of Detroit legend (and Moodymann collaborator) Amp Fiddler.

The sound, very much influenced by early Prince and even a little Bon Iver, combines effortlessly with that loose sampled MPC-house feel that you would associate with a Tee Mango production. It also comes with a seal of approval from Radio 6 Music legend Gilles Peterson and after EPs on the likes of Aus, Clone and Local Talk in recent years.

Opening up the EP, Amp Fiddler features on ‘Feels Like Whatever’. Dancing Rhodes keys, ooze jazz charm and float atop a simple house beat, while the Detroit legend’s emotive raw soulful vocal directs proceedings.

The heart breaking ‘No More Tears’ is an introspective sad soul song that shows another side to Mango’s skills. Tender chords, downbeat drums and vocal hums and coos all melt your very being. Last of all comes the dazzling ‘Lay Down (Disco Mix)’ with its slapped funk bassline, finger clicks and squelch synth work all topped off by an effortless falsetto. This is a fantastic introduction to the full length to come.

Vinyl, 12", EP