V/A - Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98) [3xLP]
Play All    
1. A1 - Cito Jarvis - Fighting Soldier
2. A2 - Roger Bain - Stand Up And Rock Your Body
3. A3 - *D* Ivan - Fire (Extended Dub Edit)
4. B1 - Bill Campbell - Body Beat
5. B2 - Brother Resistance - Move It (Version)
6. B3 - Adonijah - It's Alright
7. C1 - Peter Britto - I Want Your Love
8. C2 - Juno D - Hotter And Hotter (Dub Edit)
9. C3 - Colin Jackman - D'Jab Jab Dance (Bad Lad Mix)
10. D2 - Spiking - Liberation Train
11. E3 - Touch - Touch Music (Edit)
12. F3 - Chocolate Affaire - Jump To Calypso

V/A - Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98) [3xLP]

17 obscure Soca B-side versions, dubs, instrumentals and edits as well as vocal tracks influenced by disco, boogie, house-music, soul and the more conscious lyrics of roots reggae. Owing as much to New York, Toronto and London as to the Caribbean cities of Port of Spain, Bridgetown and Kingstown this compilation traces the genre from its explosion in the late 1970s right up to the period just before contemporary soca became established around the end of the 1990s.

Compiled by Soundway Records label founder Miles Cleret and DJ/collector Jeremy Spellacey, Body Beat, as with many compilations on the label, explores the fringes of this often maligned (by outsiders) genre. Boiled down to the bare bones of the matter though: soca is party music.

3 x 12" Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Gatefold