Various - J Jazz Volume 3: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan [3xLP]

BBE Music

Various - J Jazz Volume 3: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan [3xLP]


BBE Music presents J Jazz volume 3, the latest in its definitive compilation series exploring the finest modern jazz from Japan. Since the first volume in February 2018, the J Jazz compilation series has showcased some of the most creative, inspired and sought-after jazz recorded in Japan during a golden period spanning the 1960s to the 1980s.

Illustrating the richness and versatility of the composers and musicians on this collection, the music spans a wide yet coherent range of styles: samba, funk fusion, modal, spiritual, post-bop and bossa all combine to present an aural portrait of a jazz scene that was constantly moving and shifting its multiple musical centres of gravity.


A1 - Yasuhiro Kohno Trio + One – Song Of Island
A2 - Shigeharu Mukai – Cumulonimbus
A3 - Kohsuke Mine – Morning Tide
B1 - Hideyasu Terakawa Quartet Featuring Hiroshi Fujii – Black Nile
B2 - Aki Takase Trio – Song for Hope
C1 - Itakura Katsuyuki Trio – Honey Sanba
C2 - Ryusei Tomoyose Quartet – Kirisame
C3 - Masao Nakajima Quartet – Kemo Sabe
D1 - Hiroshi Murakami & Dancing Sphinx – Phoebus
D2 - Masaru Imada Trio + 1 – Planets
E1 - Tatsuya Nakamura – ¼ Samba II
E2 - Eiji Nakayama – Cumorah
F - Koichi Matsukaze Trio feat Ryojiro Furusawa – Acoustic Chicken

Vinyl, 3x12", Compilation, Gatefold, Reissue + Obi

Music Player. Now Playing:

Nothing playing yet
Unknown artist
Add to cart popup

Add to cart